USA Hockey Disabled Programs

Home  /  USA Hockey Disabled Programs

Disabled hockey programs are supported by USA Hockey across the United States and prove that hockey is for everybody. These programs are divided into four disciplines; Standing/Amputee, Deaf/Hard of Hearing, Sled, and Special Hockey.

There are currently four Blind Hockey teams established in the United States: The NY Nightshade, the Washington Wheelers, the Chicago Blackhawks Blind Hockey Team, and the Pittsburgh Penguins Blind Hockey program.

USA Hockey operates the USA Disabled Hockey Festival, which is the largest disabled hockey event of its kind, bringing together all four disabled disciplines in one location.  The mission of the Festival is to provide a fun and exciting weekend of hockey in a grand event, as well as promote and grow disabled hockey throughout the country.  For the third year, blind/visually impaired hockey will also be a part of the event, with two teams playing a three games series from April 6 to 9, in San Jose, California.